Congratulations! VIU 2021 President's and Provost's Awards Recipients


November 10, 2021 - 8:15am

We could not be prouder of the 2021 recipients of VIU's President's and Provost's Awards for employees. Honourees are nominated by their colleagues for exceptional work in a variety of categories touching on all aspects of the institution. Join us in congratulating this year's recipients. 

President’s Awards for Community Engagement

Community-University Partnership Award

Chris Godfreyson

Early Childhood Education and Care Faculty Team

Sheila Grieve, Danielle Alphonse, Ocean Kneeland, Antje Bitterberg, Lorna McCrea, Toni LaChance, Charlene Roulston, Rupi Rajwan, Cheryl Cameron, Jocelyn Byfield, Jamie Covey, Lily Robinson 

Community Leadership Award

Dr. Tim Goater

Community Outreach Award

Raymond Penner

Indigenous Community Engagement Award

Nancy Hamilton Pam Botterill

International Engagement Award

Dr. Jeanette Schmid

President’s Awards for Service Excellence

Exemplary Teamwork

Library Public Services Team: Lara Wright, Colin Ballard, Jenn Bolstler, Joanne Fulton, Liz Laidlaw, Annie Smith

Leadership and Innovation

Arwen Schewe

Kristine Monk

Early Career Impact

Kendra Stiwich

VIU Career Achievement Award

Fred Jackin

Service Excellence

Agia Doering


President’s Award for Enhancing Access and Inclusion

President’s Award for Enhancing a Culture of Access and Inclusion

Leif Rasmussen 


Provost’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching Design and Practice

Teaching Design and Practice that Employs Innovative Practices for Student Learning

Dr. Anna Atkinson

Teaching Design and Practice that Employs Active Learning

Dr. Ravindra Mohabeer

Teaching Design and Practice that Employs Experiential Learning

Ben Henriques

Teaching Design and Practice that Focuses on Indigenous Ways of Knowing and Being

Dr. Camie Augustus

Teaching Design and Practice that Increases Student Persistence and Resilience

Doug Corrin

Teaching Design and Practice that Focuses on Intercultural Learning

Dr. Brian Dick


Provost’s Awards for Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity

Collaborative Research Award

Dr. Spencer Russell

Alison Taplay

Deans’ Award for Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity

Carla Tilley Dr. Marian Riedel Dr. Sally Vinden Dr. Spencer Russell Dr. Sylvie Lafrenière Dr. Gillian Anderson

Undergraduate Research Mentor Award

Dr. Timothy Green

Graduate Research Mentor Award

Mark Holland Dr. Sean Toal

Tags: Announcements

Sign up for our VIU news and experts email