Board appointments announced at Malaspina University-College

January 15, 2008 - 1:40am

Robin Kenyon, Chair of the Board of Governors at Malaspina University-College, has released the names of Malaspina’s newest Board members. The one-year appointments took effect December 31, 2007.

“I am very pleased with the calibre and quality of the members appointed to the Board,” said Kenyon. “The role of a Board member is a challenging one and I believe all three new appointees will do an exceptional job.”

The appointees include Ms. Barbara Carle-Thiesson, a senior partner with Tyce Carle-Thiesson Chartered Accountants. Carle-Thiesson is on the Nanaimo & District Hospital Foundation, the Board of Evaluators and the TCT Professional Centre Ltd. She previously served the board of the Chartered Accountants of BC and the Nanaimo Curling Club. She has her Bachelor of Science (mathematics) from Brandon University and is a chartered accountant.

Also appointed is Mr. Mike Brown, who practices in the areas of business law, real estate law, wills and estates, civil litigation and immigration law with the Geselbracht Brown law firm. Within his community, Brown is actively involved with the Board of Directors of the Malaspina University-College Foundation, the United Way, the Nanaimo Dragon Boat Festival Society and Crime Stoppers. He is also active in the Nanaimo Rotary Club and the Nanaimo Chamber of Commerce. He is a graduate of the Faculty of Law at the University of Ottawa and was admitted as a member of the Law Society of Alberta in 1981 and British Columbia in 1995. He continues to practice in both Alberta and BC.

The third appointee is Mr. John Phillips, the former Manager of Forestry Programs and Management Forester for TimberWest Forest Corporation. He also served as the Senior Forester of Policy and Environment with Pacific Forest Products. Mr. Phillips has been involved with the Private Forest Land Owners Association, the Vancouver Island Marmot Recovery Foundation and the Forest Genetics Council of BC. He is a certified environmental auditor and professional forester.

In his comments, Kenyon acknowledged the contribution of the three outgoing Board members -- Bill King, Bob Waldhaus and John Moss. “I would like to extend my deepest gratitude to Bill, Bob and John for their commitment to Malaspina over the past five years.  They have each contributed a great deal to the success of our organization.”

"The background and expertise of the new Board members will be a valuable asset to Malaspina," said Dr. Ralph Nilson, President and CEO of Malaspina. “The Board of Governors performs a valuable service to the province and to the institution. I look forward to working with these new Board members as we continue our work on behalf of the students and communities Malaspina serves.”


Tags: In the Community

Sign up for our VIU news and experts email