November 27, 2018 - 4:45am

Let's Celebrate Each Other

Please send us your recent career accomplishments or those of a “modest” colleague. We want to help celebrate the learning, certifications, awards and advancements VIU’s employees achieve as they grow in their careers. You will also be able to find information here about accomplishments of the institution as a whole, like VIU becoming a Global Teaching Excellence Award finalist, which you can read more about in the Community Talk section.

Congrats to Jessie Magee-Chalmers, Associate Dean of Trades and Applied Technology, on receiving his Master's of Education in Educational Leadership last June. His master’s thesis explored Recruitment of Trades Instructors: Current Practices and Challenges Faced. The outcome of the research will help to inform the Faculty’s recruitment practices moving forward.

Congrats to VIU Graphic Designer Sheila Warren on her 16-page feature in Arabella, a Toronto-based art, architecture and design magazine. When she’s not designing promotional items for the VIU community, Sheila paints stunning nature scenes from her home studio in Nanoose Bay, and the article featured no less than 11 of her paintings, as well as an interview with the artist. Check out her artwork at

A very hearty congratulations to Michael Paskevicius on being named the ninth winner of the BC Campus Award for Excellence in Open Education. This is a significant provincial recognition for people who are advancing the field of open education and making a direct, positive impact on students’ learning outcomes.

President's and Provost's Awards

On October 25, 19 of our colleagues were recognized for exceptional contributions in a variety of areas by VIU President and Vice Chancellor Dr. Ralph Nilson and VIU Provost and VP Academic Dr. Carol Stuart. Please join us in congratulating the following people: 

President's Awards for Community Engagement

Community Leadership Award

  • Eiko Eby
  • Ruby Barclay

Community Outreach Award

  • Aubrey Robertson  

International Engagement Award

  • Darrell Harvey          
  • Brian Dick

Community-engaged Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity Award

  • Imogene Lim             
  • Stephen Davies       

Community-Academic Partnership Award

  • Pam Shaw

Indigenous Engagement Award

  • Sylvia Scow

Provost's Awards for Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity

Collaborative Research Award

  • Lindsay McCunn
  • Paige Fisher               

Distinguished Researcher Award

  • Cheryl Warsh            
  • Chris Gill      
  • Lev Idels     

Early Career Research Excellence Award

  • Jamie Gorrell            

Graduate Research Mentor Award

  • Mary Ann Richards 

Deans' Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity Award

  • Allyson Fleming       
  • Lindsay McCunn      
  • Cathryn Spence       

Send a Smile (and a free coffee or tea)!

This is a subsection of congratulations and is an opportunity for you to recognize a colleague for a recent, or consistent, “job well done.” Starting January 2019, those who receive a Smile will now have a “coffee or tea on us” at the upper cafeteria. You will receive a coupon through inter-office mail in the month following the receipt of your smile, which you can use any time at the cafeteria for any size coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Submit Smiles here.

Tags: In the Community