September 13, 2019 - 10:00am

Vancouver Island University encourages its people to challenge themselves. To seek new heights in their careers and education, to critically question our world, conduct unique, impactful research. When our people reach these milestones, we want to celebrate with them. If you know of anyone, yourself included, who has recently reached a new milestone in his or her career, please share it with us so we can recognize them. 

Today, we recognize:

  • Dr. Jean Maltesen, Associate Vice-President, MARCOMM for the completion of her EdD through University of British Columbia. Her research is titled What Characteristics Account for Who Participates in Adult Basic Education At Vancouver Island University: A Case of Policy and Practice.
  • Dr. Merv Jefferies, Professor, Hospitality, Faculty of Management, for the completion of his PhD through the University of Victoria. His research is titled The Impact of Surf Tourism on the Community of Tofino.
  • Dr. Linda Derksen, Chair of the Universal Access Committee and Sociology Professor and Mary Stasiuk, Disability Services Access Specialist, recipients of VIU's inaugural Access and Inclusion award for their tireless work in making VIU a more inclusive for all people, regardless of race, colour, creed, gender or ability.

The 2019 recipients of the President's Awards for Community Engagement:

  • International Engagement Award: Dr. Aggie Weighill (Faculty of Management)
  • Community Leadership Award: Ms. Anita Carroll (Faculty of Health and Human Services) 
  • Indigenous Engagement Award: Ms. Lillian Morton (Faculty of Education) 
  • Community Outreach Award: Ms. Sandy Alexander (Faculty of Health and Human Services)

The 2019 recipients of Provost's Awards for Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity 

  • Graduate Research Mentor Award: Dr. Bonita Davidson (Faculty of Education) 
  • Distinguished Researcher Award: Dr. Erik Krogh (Faculty of Science and Technology) 

The 2019 recipients of the Deans’ Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity Awards

  • Dr. Imogene Lim (Faculty of Social Sciences) 
  • Dr. Wendy Simms (Faculty of Education)

At the awards ceremony for the recognitions stated above, VIU President and Vice-Chancellor Dr. Deb Saucier announced the creation of a new set of awards coming next Fall that will recognize VIU employees in all employee groups for service excellence. The categories and nomination process will announced once confirmed. Dr. Saucier also said all VIU awards, except long services awards which will continue in their current form, will be given at one big celebration event taking place each Fall, starting in 2020. 

Tags: Announcements